Provider profile
Orthopaedic surgeon specializing in limb reconstruction and lengthening. Stellenbosch. South Africa
Provider response . Provider-stated information and cited sources. Not an endorsement.
Dr Franz Birkholtz
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Dr Franz Birkholtz Orthopaedics; Institute of Orthopaedics and Rheumatology; Mediclinic Winelands Orthopaedic Hospital
The questionnaire names the Stellenbosch affiliations. The official Mediclinic profile also lists Mediclinic Stellenbosch and Mediclinic Winelands Day Clinic.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Accepted
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
English
This is the care-team language selected in the questionnaire; interpreter availability was not stated.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
1,000-1,499 individual patients
Provider estimate for the named surgeon; not independently audited and not a procedure, segment, or implant count.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
25-49 individual patients
Provider estimate for the named surgeon; not independently audited.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Cosmetic stature lengthening, limb-length discrepancy, deformity correction, congenital conditions, and post-trauma shortening, bone loss, or nonunion
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Pediatric and adult
Individual candidacy remains case-specific.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Femur, tibia, foot or ankle, humerus, forearm, and hand
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
PRECICE, FITBONE, LON, LATN, circular external fixation, monolateral external fixation, hexapod external fixation, and bone transport
Method availability does not establish suitability for an individual patient.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
PRECICE and FITBONE
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
PRECICE, FITBONE, LON, LATN, and hexapod external fixation
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
TrueLok and TrueLok Hex
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Titanium nails supplied through Ortho-Xact
The provider described the nails as similar to a Medtronic tibial nail. The Library did not verify an exact model, manufacturer, regulatory status, or technical equivalence and does not present that comparison as fact.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
USD 45,000 for the four-month LON tibia inclusive package; USD 73,000-76,000 for selected bilateral femur or tibia FITBONE and PRECICE packages
Provider-stated general 2026 package information, not a patient-specific quote. Upper-limb packages remain price on request. Complication care, emergency care, travel, translation, hardware removal, and other stated exclusions are outside the listed package. A current written quote controls.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Relevant inclusive packages provide four months in the dedicated accommodation facility with PT, hydrotherapy, meals, and follow-up, alongside the procedure-specific inclusions in the written package
The uploaded sheet describes further procedure-specific inclusions and exclusions. Exact scope remains subject to the provider's current written quote; this summary does not imply that every package has identical inclusions.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
50% to secure the nails
Refundability and timing were not stated.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
12-15 weeks near the treatment center for femur or tibia
The provider separately confirmed that relevant inclusive packages cover four months in the dedicated accommodation facility. The recommended local-stay range and package accommodation period answer different planning questions and individual plans may vary.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Generally 7-10 days, depending on patient factors
Provider-stated general range, not a guaranteed stay or a patient-specific discharge plan.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
On-site or accommodation-based PT, 5-6 days weekly during distraction and 3-4 days weekly during consolidation
Frequency may be adjusted to the individual treatment plan.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Every two weeks; the listed package covers four months
The provider response does not define the cadence after the four-month package period.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Available by video call, email, and messaging app
These are routine follow-up channels, not an emergency-care guarantee.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Wire transfer and credit or debit card
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Support is available on site at the accommodation facility, with escalation through the practice nurse practitioner to the surgeon and backup ambulance and emergency-room support
Provider-stated general pathway, not a guarantee of response time, availability, or coverage. Each patient still needs the current contact and escalation plan.
The 2026-08-25 clarification resolves the previously open pathway question. Emergency or complication care remains outside the listed package unless a current written quote states otherwise.
Provider-stated. Response .
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Accessed
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Accessed
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Accessed
Provider-supplied information reviewed by the Library. Private correspondence and uploads are not published; operational statements are not independently audited.
Accessed
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Accessed
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Accessed
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Accessed
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Accessed
Supports the referenced information only; a source listing is not a clinical endorsement.
Accessed
Informational only. Not medical advice, a rating, or an outcome guarantee. Verification policy.